so different

It is SO different editing somebody else’s work rather than you’re own. 😮

With my own, I can simply delete words, sentences or paragraphs, or rearrange scenes, move events, delete characters or threads etc., all with a few quick slashes of the finger (can a finger slash? I guess… maybe…).

But with another’s words, I want to explain, justify or suggest (highlighting all relevant words in my tricolour stylie) in such a way that the writer understands exactly what I mean, and why, and can then choose to do whatever they want.

This “others” way could help me with my own, because while I take the time to explain and think around the “issue”, sometimes I find something else/better, and it sparks an improved tweak, whereas with my own fiction I would have already moved on.

Well, I found it interesting. 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

